Why Is It Called Torres Strait?

What are the five main islands of Torres Strait?

Torres Strait Islands These islands can be divided into five cultural groups, which are represented by the white five-pointed star on the Torres Strait Islander flag: the Eastern (Meriam), Top Western (Guda Maluilgal), Near Western (Maluilgal), Central (Kulkalgal), and Inner Islands (Kaiwalagal)..

How do you say hello in Aboriginal?

Kaya/Palya/Yaama: Kaya means hello in the Noongar language. Palya is a Pintupi language word used as a greeting much in the same way that two friends would say hello in English while Yaama is a Gamilaraay language word for hello used in Northern NSW.

What language do Torres Strait Islanders speak?

Torres Strait Creole (also known as Ailan Tok or Yumplatok) is spoken by most Torres Strait Islanders and is a mixture of Standard Australian English and traditional languages. It is an English-based creole; however each island has its’ own version of creole.

Is the Aboriginal flag official?

The Australian Aboriginal Flag represents Aboriginal Australians. It is one of the officially proclaimed flags of Australia, and holds special legal and political status. It is often flown together with the national flag and with the Torres Strait Islander Flag, which is also an officially proclaimed flag.

Are Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders the same?

‘Aboriginal’ and ‘Torres Strait Islander’ refer to different groups of peoples. Aboriginal refers to the original peoples of mainland Australia. Torres Strait Islander refers to the original peoples of the 274 islands located north of Australia, in the Torres Strait.

Can ancestry DNA tell me if im Aboriginal?

Ancestry® updates ethnicity results to include ‘Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander’ region. AncestryDNA® has updated its ethnicity estimate reference panel so customers will now have the ability to see a possible genetic connection with the Indigenous communities of Australia.

Why is Torres Strait part of Australia?

How did the islands become part of Australia? Torres Strait is named after a Spanish captain, Torres, who sailed through the strait in 1606 on his way to the Philippines.

Are Torres Strait Islanders Australian citizens?

Torres Strait Islanders are the second group of Indigenous Australians and a minority within a minority. … At Federation they became Australian citizens although until comparatively recently they were denied rights and benefits which their fellow Australians took for granted.

Can you swim at Thursday Island?

You may be told that particular places are safer from crocodiles, being away from the mangroves, but it still isn’t advisable to swim far out into the ocean. Jardine Motel has a small pool, and there is another public one in the sports centre, but they aren’t conducive to a poolside resort holiday.

What are the 3 flags of Australia?

Australia has three official flags: the Australian National Flag, the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

Are there any full blooded aboriginal peoples left?

So, today, out of a population of hundreds of thousands at the time of white settlement, there are only 47,000 full-blooded Aborigines left in Australia.

What does Torres Strait mean?

The Torres Strait (/ˈtɒrɪs/) is a strait between Australia and the Melanesian island of New Guinea. … It is named after the Spanish navigator Luís Vaz de Torres, who sailed through the strait in 1606.

Is Torres Strait a country?

The Torres Strait Islands are part of the Australian state of Queensland. Situated between mainland Australia and Papua New Guinea, the Torres Strait Islands are the only part of Australia sharing a border with another country.

Are Torres Strait Islanders Pacific Islanders?

The indigenous peoples of Oceania are Polynesians, Melanesians (including Torres Strait Islanders), Micronesians, Papuans, and Aboriginal Australians. With the notable exceptions of Australia, New Zealand, Hawaii, New Caledonia and Guam, indigenous peoples make up the majority of the populations of Oceania.

How do you say hello in Torres Strait Islander language?

FiltersAngkamuthi [Northern Peninsula Area, Cape York] Iyurrah = I am here (hello) … Barna [Nebo, North Queensland] … Barrungam [Dalby, Bunya Mountains] … Bidjara[Charleville Region, South-West Queensland] … Bigambul [South-West Queensland] … Biri [Central Queensland] … Biri [Central Queensland] … Biri-guba [Townsville region]More items…•

Why are Torres Strait Islanders not Aboriginal?

Torres Strait Islanders are of Melanesian origin with their own distinct identity, history and cultural traditions. Many Torres Strait Islanders live on mainland Australia. The term ‘Indigenous’ is used to refer to both Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Are there crocodiles on Thursday Island?

“Crocodiles of 4m and more are classified as iconic, and are culturally significant to the Kuarareg Nation, which includes Thursday Island,” the spokesman said. … “With the agreement of the traditional owners, the animal was euthanised and the carcass will remain on country.